Skip to Content
EMR Certification

Certification Levels

The initial application window for Electronic Medical Record (EMR) Certification was between Feb. 8, 2016 and April 1, 2016. EMR vendors are welcome to submit an expression of interest at any time.

View the list of Certified EMR Products.

Click on the links below to learn more about EMR Certification in Manitoba: Applicant FAQs

Three key stages
There are three key stages within the EMR Certification process:

Three Stages

Two Certification levels
The Government of Manitoba recognizes that customer needs may vary based on practice context and has supported this by developing two levels of EMR Certification: Standard and Integrated EMR. Standard level is the foundation for Manitoba EMR Certification and is a pre-requisite to moving forward with further assessment of optional components or to the Integrated level of Certification. An EMR Product must meet all assessment criteria in order to achieve certified status for the level requested as outlined below. 

For a brief summary of the EMR requirements listed below, read our Provincial EMR Requirements Overview.

Baseline EMR Requirements
eChart Manitoba Context-Sensitive Launch Interface

Components available once Standard Certification is complete


Labs - Optional
Labs - Mandatory
DI - Optional
DI - Mandatory
Client Registry Query - Optional
Client Registry Query - Optional
Enrolment Service - Optional
Enrolment Service - Mandatory
Primary Care Quality Indicator Reminders and Data Extract
Interprofessional Team Data Extract
Comprehensive Care Management Billing Support
Access, Capacity and Workload Reporting
*Primary Care Quality Indicator Reminders and Data Extract is a prerequisite

What Certification level is right for you?
Vendors of Manitoba Certified EMRs may choose the level appropriate for their organization, product and target customer market:

Standard Certification:
This level includes assessment of Manitoba’s Baseline EMR requirements along with the eChart Manitoba (provincial Electronic Health Record) Context-Sensitive Launch Interface specification. Standard Certification may be appropriate for EMR vendors whose target customer includes specialists and/or other clinicians whose needs may be met with a basic level of EMR integration. This level may also appeal to EMR vendors wanting to enter the Manitoba market with a lower initial investment while providing flexibility to meet individual customer needs through optional components. Once certified at the Standard level, EMR vendors may choose to enhance their EMR product over time by selecting relevant optional components and work to achieve full Integrated EMR Certification over time. 

Integrated EMR Certification:
Building upon the Standard Certification foundation, this level provides access to primary care quality indicator reminders, clinical information sharing opportunities (such as information sharing between primary and episodic providers) and the measurement and evaluation of team-based care and patient access. Other interoperability components focus on centralized patient enrolment functionality to support quality patient care and claiming of annual chronic disease and comprehensive care management tariffs. Target clinics include primary care or community specialty clinics of all sizes who are seeking a highly interoperable EMR system and those involved in provincial initiatives such as My Health Teams. To support provincial primary care direction, EMR products with Integrated EMR Certification will have future opportunities to collaborate on and integrate with new provincial programs, initiatives and services that further enhance the product and provide more functionality to customers.

Questions about EMR Certification?
Read our FAQs
Phone: (204) 926-3482

Manitoba eHealth icon ©2006 Manitoba eHealth. All rights reserved.